Hero Design Challenge: The Falcon

From a previous website I used to run, here’s my ideas about redesigning Marvel Comics’ Falcon, currently starring in Captain America 2: The Winter Soldier

Comics Redesign: The Falcon

For this design I was trying to push the Falcon into more of a traditionally “heroic” mode, in both costume and modus operandi. I would love to see Falcon standing tall on a darkened building, listening intently into the night, with a dramatic cape fluttering in the night air. He is kind of a Superman at heart with a Batman powerset in a Spider-Man setting. If that ain’t intriguing enough, you gotta read more comic books!

And with such a focus, a different costume might be needed. Here’s a quick sketch with a splash of color, but I didn’t have enough time to really the cape as I would have liked.

In other words, the cape doubles as wings by overlaying electricity/hard light over them, and his usually-open mask now has bird-of-prey googles in the design.

I figure, if you’re going to go superhero, then go big. The days of paramilitary fatigues and padded jackets/jumpsuits are over. Let’s go back to sleek, iconic, and sporty, appropriate for an idealistic do-gooder like Falcon!

